Tuesday, November 2, 2010

G.A.R. Seward (Nebraska) Post No. 3

"G.A.R. - Seward Post No. 3 - Winslow Post No. 56 - Keenan Post No. 137 - Masonic - Oliver Lodge No.
38 - Utica Lodge No. 96 - I.O.O.F. - Utica Lodge No. 101 - Seward Lodge No. 26 - W.C.T.U. of Seward
- Ancient Order United Workmen - Seward Lodge No. 16


Was organized Dec. 16, 1880, by Capt. John S. Wood, of Omaha, Assistant Adjutant General, Department
of Nebraska. The following were chosen officers:
J. N. Edwards, Commander; Wm. Hays, Senior Vice Commander; S. D. Love, Junior Vice Commander; D. H.
Figard, Q. M.; A. W. Hageman, Surgeon; Jeff Ogg, Adjutant; A. H. Edwards, Officer of the Day; J. D.
Edwards, Sergeant Major; H. Vanderhoof, O. G.

The charter members were: H. M. Hinsdale, Jefferson Ogg, Thomas Corr, A. W. Hageman, Henry
Vanderhoof, S. D. Love, Abraham Wallick, C. C. Jobes, J. C. Ford, C. K. Humhpreys, G. W. Hoover, J.
M. Fletcher, Wm. Hays, J. D. Messinger, J. N. Edwards, Wm. Clemons, A. H. Edwards, D. H. Figard, J.
D. Edwards, Geo. W. Fuller, Geo. W. Whiting, Geo. H. Sidle, A. J. Williams, Thos. B. Siddons, Chas.
Lyon, and Cyrus Fetterman.

The post started out with the above-named veterans, with the full hope of bringing in all the boys
who wore the blue and that lived in reach of the post. The boys had camp-fire meetings, sung songs
of the long ago, and mustered during the year 1881 the following members: Daniel W. Crouse, S. H.
Marshall, Wm. Leese, H. M. Brooks, John H. Morris, S. N. Welsh, Benj. W. Walker, Henry Morris, L. G.
Johns, E. H. Horn, Alfred Stephens, Jacob Andrews, John Larson. R. T. Cooper, Robt. W. Pound, J. L.
S. Jackson, E. C. Archer, Ed. Cooper, J. C. Lockhart, Wm. Redford, L. G. Castle, M. Richtmeyer, J.
H. Anderson, C. C. Ternicliff, Jas. W. Woods, A. M. Simpson, P. H. Steele, Henry Jett, John
Ohlwiler, W. H. R. Phillips, John M. Thurman, Henry Creighton, Jas. Wright.

January 1, 1882, the following having been elected to fill the various offices of the post, were
duly installed:
J. N. Edwards, Commander; Cyrus Fetterman, Senior Vice; Wm. Woods, Junior Vice; S. D. Love, Q. M.;
A. W. Hageman, Surgeon; J. M. Fletcher, Chaplain; H. Vanderhoof, O. D.; C. K. Humphreys, O. G.; Wm.
Clemons, Adjt.; D. W. Crouse, Q. M. S.; C. W, Lyon, Sergeant Maj.

The post continued to hold meetings during 1882, with some draw backs, which were happily adjusted
during the year by the men getting into a hail by themselves, and began to gather an outfit
peculiarly needed in a post room.

The following were mustered during 1882: Daniel Brady, John Hanley, Jacob Cox.

In December, 1882, the post elected the following officers to serve for the ensuing year of 1888: S.
D. Love, Commander; M. Thurman, Senior Vice; Wm. Woods, Junior Vice; C. K. Humphrey, Q. M.; A. W.
Hageman, Surgeon; Daniel Brady, Chaplain; E. H. Horn, O. D.; H. M. Brooks, O. G; H. Vanderhoof Adjt.

During this year the post mustered a number of new members, and many good social gatherings were
had, long to be remembered by the boys. The following were mustered in: Jas. Moorhead, John
Westerhoof, S. J. Ashton, C. Chapin, S. R. Philips, Chas. Emerson, W. T. Olmstead, W. S. Saunders,
Wm. Silence, John Welsh, D. C. McKillip, Henry Sanders, E. C. Parkinson (by transfer), M. Pilgrim,
John Knobbs, Wm. Morgan.

December 1, 1883, the following were elected officers for the year 1884: E. C. Parkinson, Commander;
C. C. Jobes, Senior Vice; A.
W. Hageman, Junior Vice; H. Sanders, Chaplain; J. H. Welsh, Surgeon; C. K. Humphrey, Q. M.; A. H.
Edwards, O. D.; M. Pilgrim, O. G.; H. Vanderhoof, Adjt.

The post started out for the year in good trim, and had many good camp-fires, tending to revive the
veterans up and bring in some old comrades from the outside. During the year the following were
brought in by muster, etc.: E. A. Hitchcock, John Rhoades, B Chattuck, J. M. Strayer, Leander
Callaghan, S. C. Stanwood, S. H. Carter, J. A. Mick (by transfer), Chas. P. Stephenson (by
transfer), S. G. Jones, Wm. Wait, S. D. Dutton, G. W. Boyes, J. J. Redding, R. R. Schick, J. H.
Walker, L. A. Welden, A. Crawford, C. Turner, W. H. Walker, Geo. W. Lowly, P. Cameron, W. B.
Barrett, Gen. Jas. M. True, J. P. Losee, J. C. Thomas, J. B. Ireland, C. E. Vanpelt, S. C.
Burlingim, J. T. Dunrig, M. Millspaugh, C. C. Davis.

September 6, 1884, E. C. Parkinson resigned the office of Commander, and C. C. Jobes, who was then
Sen. Vice, was elected to fill the vacancy until the next annual election, which occurred December
6, 1884, by the election of A. H. Edwards as Commander; A. W. Hageman, Sen. Vice; A. Crawford, Jun.
Vice; C. Turner, Surgeon; J. M. Fletcher, Chap.; E. C. Parkinson, Q. M.; Lee Welden, O. D.; T. B.
Siddons, O. G.; W. H. Walker, Adjt. This year was a pleasant one with the veterans. They added many
needed improvements to the post room, gathered in members, and got the post on a firm foundation.

The following were mustered in during the year:
John N. Halliday, John W. Gladwish, S. M. Caldwell, B Smith, Rev. T. L. Sexton, C. Dunn, C. H.
Goldsmith, W. P. Christian, M. D. Monley, Alf. Wilcox, Chas. Scribner, H. G. Hosford, W. R. Davis,
E. Faust, W. J. Eatinger, Geo. W. Anderson, Jededia Austin, Joseph Miller (by transfer).

Dec. 5, 1885, election of officers resulted as follows: A. H. Edwards, commander; S. R. Phillips,
Sen. Vice; Wm. Redford, Jun. Vice; Wm. Wood, Surgeon; H. Saunders, Chap.; E. C. Parkinson, Q. M.; L.
A. Weldon, O. D.; M. D. Monley, O. G.; W. T. Olmstead, Adjt. The year of 1886 was an auspicious one
for the post. Many valuable improvements were made and many good old camp-fires were had. There were
mustered during the year as follows: B. Lindsey, D. C. Conley, Orrin Squires, C. M. Clark, Rev. John
Lohr, Alex. Davis, Rev. J. H. Presson, D. C. Work, Jacob Lawsha.

Dec. 4, 1886, the election resulted as follows: A. W. Hageman, Commander; Wm. Redford, Sen. Vice; T.
B. Siddons, Jun. Vice; J. M. Strayer, Q. M.; Wm. Woods, Surgeon; J. H. Presson, Chap.; E. C.
Parkinson, O. D.; B. Lindsey, O. G.; D. C. Work, Adjt. During this year many were brought in who had
long been on the outside and found that they needed a home among the "boys." The following were
mustered: Jesse Knight, Amos Collman, J. W. Wharton, Nelson Taylor, Robert O’Dell, John Woods, A. A.
Palmer, R. H. Woodward, L. J. Grunt, C. F. Dawley, I. D. Neihardt (by transfer), John R. Wenciker,
A. L. Goss, J. G. Baylis, B. Fuller, F. Morton, A. G. Compton (by transfer), L. V. Bolon (by
transfer), Jas. Devine.

Dec. 3d, 1887, the following were elected for the ensuing year:
Henry Morris, Commander; Wm.. Redford, Sen. Vice; D. H. Figard, Jun. Vice; J. H. Presson, Chap.; S.
N. Welsh, Surg.; J. M. Strayer, Q. M.; A. H. Edwards, O. D.; M. Millspaugh, O. G. "